Southwestern and Mesa split title, earn playoffs

Southwestern and Mesa split title, earn playoffs

The PCAC baseball season wrapped up last week with both Southwestern College and San Diego Mesa College finishing in a tie for first place.  The two teams also earned a playoff berth on Sunday.

Southwestern and Mesa will both enter the CCCAA Southern California Regional Tournament this week after the coaches met to determine the playoff seeds on Sunday.  Southwestern (21-16) garnered the No. 17 seed and will travel to Los Angeles Mission College for a play-in game on Tuesday at 2:00 PM.  Mesa (26-12-1) earned the No. 7 seed and will host Golden West College in a three-game series starting on Friday at 2:00 PM.

Southwestern and Mesa both finished 19-5 in Pacific Coast Athletic Conference play, with Mesa winning 2-of-3 from Southwestern in the season series back in March.  Mesa won the first two games 5-4 (10 in) and 6-0 before Southwestern grabbed the final game, 7-4.

Southwestern finished the season red hot, winning their final 13 games of the season.  The Jaguars swept College of the Desert, Grossmont College, Imperial Valley College and San Bernardino Valley College to finish the regular season.  They outscored opponents 109-58 over the final 13 games to capture a share of the PCAC title.  Southwestern is led on offense by Jorge Martinez (.350) and Bryan Reyes (.354) while the pitching staff has struck out 106 batters over the final 13 games. 

Mesa comes into the playoffs hobbling a bit after dropping 2-of-3 to Palomar College in the final series of the season.  Previous to that, the Olympians won every series in PCAC play, including sweeps over College of the Desert, Grossmont College, San Bernardino Valley College and San Diego City College.  Mesa has the No. 10 hitting offense in the state and the No. 19 pitching staff, boasting a .313 team batting average with a 3.68 team ERA.  The Olympian have nine guys batting over .300, led by Victor Ceniceros (.353).  Mesa also features a rotation of three guys with a collective 2.21 ERA (Jacob Casson, Dylan Weese, Kobby Lopez).